Skip to content

Association for Academic Psychiatry (AAP)

The American College of Psychiatrists Selects New Board Members & Officers


The American College of Psychiatrists elected new Members to its Board of Regents and selected Board Officers at its Annual Meeting in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, on February 22, 2020. Members of the Board of Regents provide strategic leadership and oversight for the programs and future direction of The College.

Laura Roberts, M.D., M.A.: Laura Roberts was named President of The College. Dr. Roberts serves as Chairman and the Katharine Dexter McCormick and Stanley McCormick Memorial Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the Stanford University School of Medicine. She serves as the Editor-in-Chief for American Psychiatric Association Publishing, Books Division and was recently named Editor-in-Chief of Academic Medicine. Having received her B.A. in history and M.A. in the conceptual foundations of science from the University of Chicago, she then completed her medical training and a fellowship in clinical medical ethics at the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine. Dr. Roberts received her residency training in psychiatry at University of New Mexico School of Medicine, where she then joined the faculty and established the University of New Mexico Institute for Ethics. Prior to her move to Stanford, she served as the Chairman of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine at the Medical College of Wisconsin.

Larry R. Faulkner, M.D.: Larry R. Faulkner assumed the role of President-Elect of The College. Dr. Faulkner is President and CEO of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology. From 1994 to 2006, Dr. Faulkner served as Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine at the University of South Carolina. Among other awards, Dr. Faulkner has received the Distinguished Service in Psychiatry Award from the American College of Psychiatrists, the Seymour Pollack Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Teaching and Education Functions of Forensic Psychiatry, and a Special Presidential Commendation for the Promotion of Psychiatric Education and Lifelong Learning from the American Psychiatric Association. Dr. Faulkner received his undergraduate education at Whitman College and attended the University of Washington School of Medicine. He completed his residency at the University of Arkansas and a fellowship at National Institute of Mental Health.

Eugene V. Beresin, M.D.: Eugene V. Beresin became First Vice President of The College. Dr. Beresin is Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School and Executive Director and Founder of the Clay Center for Young Healthy Minds at Massachusetts General Hospital. He is also Director of the Elizabeth Thatcher Acampora Endowment, an outreach program to meet the mental health needs of underserved youth and families in three community settings. Dr. Beresin received his M.A. in philosophy and M.D. from the University of Pennsylvania. Subsequently, he completed an internship in pediatrics at Yale New Haven Hospital, his residency at Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School, and a residency in child psychiatry at Boston Children’s Hospital/Judge Baker Guidance Center/Harvard Medical School.

George A. Keepers, M.D.: George A. Keepers was elected as Second Vice President of The College. Dr. Keepers is Chair of the Psychiatry Department and Carruthers Professor of Psychiatry at Oregon Health & Sciences University in Portland. He also serves as Director of OHSU’s Adult Attention Deficit Disorder Clinic. Dr. Keepers earned a B.A. from the University of Missouri in Columbia, received his medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine and completed his residency at Oregon Health Sciences University.

Barbara S. Schneidman, M.D., M.P.H.: The College elected Barbara S. Schneidman as Secretary-General of the organization. A Past-President of The College, Dr. Schneidman currently holds the position of Clinical Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Washington School of Medicine. Dr. Schneidman is a graduate of the University of Minnesota Medical School from which she recently received the Distinguished Medical School Alumni Award. She is also the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Federation of State Medical Boards. Dr. Schneidman received her master’s in public health from the University of Washington School of Public Health and completed her residency in psychiatry at the University of Washington.

Robert J. Boland, M.D: Bob Boland has joined The College’s Board of Regents. Dr. Boland is the Vice Chair for Education for the Brigham and Women’s Hospital Department of Psychiatry, an Associate Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School and the Director of the Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Psychiatry Residency Program. He was previously the Co-Director of the Harvard Longwood Psychiatry Residency Training Program and before that the Associate Director of Residency Training at Brown. Dr. Boland graduated from Georgetown University and Georgetown School of Medicine and completed a residency at the Institute of Living in Hartford and a fellowship in psychosomatic medicine at Georgetown/Fairfax Hospital. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology.

Sidney Zisook, M.D.: Sidney Zisook has joined The College’s Board of Regents. Dr. Zisook is a Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry at UC San Diego, Director of the Healer Education, Assessment and Referral (HEAR) Program (a physician and nurse support and suicide prevention program) and the Department of Psychiatry’s Wellness Director. Dr. Zisook received his bachelor of arts from the University of California at Berkeley and his medical degree from Stritch-Loyola, Chicago. He completed his residency in Psychiatry at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston and was a clinical fellow of Harvard Medical School.

About The American College of Psychiatrists
Founded on May 8, 1963, in St. Louis, Missouri, The American College of Psychiatrists is a not-for-profit honorary association dedicated to providing continuing education to its Members, promoting the latest advances in the specialty, and supporting the highest standards in psychiatry. Membership in The College is limited to 750 practicing psychiatrists who have demonstrated outstanding competence and national recognition in the field of psychiatry. For more information, visit The College Web site at

Powered By GrowthZone